16 WordPress Plugins I Use

Akismet

There are quite a few spam blocking solutions out there but I decided to stick with the one that comes with WordPress built in installation. I have spam comments as much as other bloggers and in some cases I get legitimate comments marked as spam but this does not happen too much for me to handle.

BackWPup

Before I came across this excellent plugin, I used WP-DB-Backup which automatically sent database backups to my mail box on a daily basis (which I believe is very important). At some point I also installed wp-optimize that does a good job in db table optimization from the dashboard.
However, when I recently upgraded WebTechWise, I was looking for a backup solution for both my database and my theme files. So I found BackWPup that handles both, and fortunately it also replaces wp-optimize in table optimization.

Clean Options

As I explained in this post, this is a great solution to clean your wp-options table from old plugin traces.
Comment Notifier
I already reviewed this plugin in details and it still does a good job in notifying users on new comments to posts they commented on.

Contact Form 7

Provides an easy to use solution for basic contact forms. There is a fair amount of competitors who don’t fall short of it though.
Dashboard Post-it
Just a small plugin to handle a blog to do list on my dashboard.

Drafts Dropdown

This is where I gather all my ideas before publishing them. It gives quick access to all draft posts with one click.
Google Analytics for WordPress
In the past I used Google Analyticator, but when I tested this plugin I saw it has much more features than the first.

Ozh’ Admin Drop Down Menu

This is really a matter of opinion, but I personally think that working with horizontal menus is much easier than working with vertical ones.
Source Codes in Comments
Nice little plugin that let you guys (and girls) add code to your comments without having to worry about the code becoming gibberish or disappearing.
Syntax Highlighter ComPress
I was searching for a light weight plugin that colorize code in my posts. This one does a decent job.

TDO Mini Forms

A feature rich (and somewhat complicated) plugin that I use to enable users to submit news in my user news section.

W3 Total Cache

For a long time I have been using the popular wp-super-cache, but upon blog upgrade I decided to give this one a try and got hooked. It has so many smart features to enhance blog performance and it also replaced my wp-minimize plugin. What I also like about it is the ability to programmatically refresh page cache or post specific cache. This also came in handy in WPhits big time because of the voting system that requires special caching customization.

WordPress Mobile Pack

Making your site compatible for mobile phones is no longer a luxury of huge widely popular websites. It is something that every blogger and website owner should take under consideration these days.
I wrote this post about some of the features of this plugin and why I use it instead of the popular WPtouch.

WordPress SEO

I chose this one over All In One SEO because it gives a wider solution to SEO issues. It not only handles meta title and description, but also includes a sitemap generator and indexation engine (interface replacement for the robots.txt file).

WP-PageNavi

A good plugin for pagination in blogs. I recommend installing this or one of the alternatives because it really uprades the ease of navigation.

Leave a Reply

